...life can be translucent

Menu

hex 51.4 Hua-Ching Ni Commentary

C

chushel

Hello All,
I am posting here for the first time after rejoining Clarity after an absence.
I have been studying and contemplating the I Ching for a few years and have found many wise and thoughtful comments from members on this site.:bows:
Therefore, I am hopeful that some of you may have insight into a question that is puzzling me.

In Hex 51.4 -- Hua-Ching Ni -- "Book of Changes" -- writes:
......"This entire hexagram shows various levels or situations in which one experiences Shock. This line (51.4 ) has the ability to improve itself and can become the source of thunder....

That statement really intrigues and puzzles me. It seems quite different than other commentaries that I am familiar with.
So,...
Why does this line have the abiity to improve itself ? AND ESPECIALLY
How can it become the source of Thunder???

Other commentaries seem to speak about being mired, stuck in the mud,confused etc.
Is this commentary considering perhaps the position or relationship of the lines or the attributes of the trigrams or some thing else?

I am appreciative of any insights you may have.

fkegan

(deceased)
Reaction score
Hi chushel,

You may have to email Hua-Ching Ni to ask him why he made those remarks; however, they make sense to me.

The fourth line place is about the heart and feelings. It is an even place while the line is Yang. It is preceded and followed by Yin lines thus the usual bad commentary attached to this line (cf. Wilhelm book III for more).

Remember most commentary is textual and ignores divination. As a moving line, hex 51.4 expresses and exhausts its heart feelings tending then towards the resultant hex 24 which is the Victory of the Light. This would support the commentary you quote.

Frank

elvis

(deceased)
Reaction score