...life can be translucent

Menu

Changing Lines

newlife

visitor
Reaction score
First of all, I want to say ni hao to everyone. This is my first post.

I have a question about how to interpret changing lines. I know all triagrams, hexegrams and lines are neutral and neither good or bad but please bare with me for my sake.

Example:
I recently cast hexigram 42 which seems pretty good and got line 5 and 6 as a changing lines which transforms the hexigram to 24 which seems really good too. However the changing seems to signify a very "negative" course of action in order to get from 42 to 24.

This is confusing to me.

As you can see, I am quite new to Yi and any help would be much appreciated.

Last edited:

pocossin

visitor
Reaction score
I recently cast hexigram 42 which seems pretty good and got line 6 as a changing line which transforms the hexigram to 24 which seems really good too. However the changing seems to signify a very "negative" course of action in order to get from 42 to 24.

This is confusing to me.

Welcome to Clarity. Hexagram 42 with line 6 changing gives hexagram 3. Could it be that you are not keeping your heart constantly steady? :)

elias

visitor
Reaction score
ni hao, newlife.

The 6 line often reflects what happens when you push an idea or a tendency too far, or an entire situation has worn out its welcome. In the case of 42.6, a partiality or self-centeredness may have taken over. You may be seeing progress on the object of inquiry, and the tendency is to relax and indulge in the moment. In truth, you're in the eye of the hurricane, and the calm is illusory. Do not relax, do not indulge.

Changing lines and resulting hexes suggest the future should you continue on a present course of action ... a future as it may be rather than as it must be. (fwiw, our western notion of linear time does not necessarily accord with the Chinese view of cyclical time.)