...life can be translucent

Menu

30.6 to 55 masters degree

twilightshadow

visitor
Reaction score
I am a certified teacher who has been unemployed for over a year. Ive tried everything, but cant even get on at a school clerical position, and even sub positions are all full (I have also applied for jobs outside the ed field to know avail). Though I am certified I am not tenured, having only two years teaching in two different states. I have been trying to think of ways to augment my opportunities, along with figuring out my longterm goals. I really want to teach college, and honestly I would prefer to teach something other than English, something more along the lines of philosophy or theology. However, to teach college you need at least a masters degree. I wish I had known I would be out this long, I could be halfway done by now. Even if they vote an unemployment extension I will be out of benefits in 12 weeks, I didnt have enough credits to receive the full 99 weeks. I know I will eventually need a masters or have to give up my longterm career goals, but I am not sure about the timing or how I will finance it. I asked Yi, what are your thoughts on my pursuing a masters degree now? The answer was 30.6 to 55. Im not sure what the heads rolling and achieving followers is about. I think the prior bad habits is referring to my tendency to procrastinate and leave everything to the last minute. Do you guys have any thoughts about what Yi may be trying to tell me? Thanks for the help.

elias

visitor
Reaction score
You describe what I experienced 30 yrs ago to a very scary degree -- I had a teaching degree in English in a time when one couldn't buy a job...