...life can be translucent

Menu

Divorce, who should file?

flashlight

visitor
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm pretty new at using the I Ching and find understanding its advice rather challenging.

I have separated from my husband (my choice) after 15 very emotionally difficult and painful years. I know this is the right decision for me. I have made peace with the issues, am turning the page and rebuilding myself from the inside out. I would like (hope?) that the divorce process be an as peaceful one as possible, nothing good comes from two people tearing themselves apart in a nasty and protracted legal battle (save that lawyers make a mint!). My husband has not made peace with this situation, alternating between anger and threats and hanging on (even suggesting we remain separated and not divorce), asking me time and again whether I really do want to divorce. My answer has been consistent (yes) as there is really no point to remaining in limbo (separated, but not divorced).

Wanting for this to go as smoothly and respectfully as possible, I asked the I Ching two questions:
- What would be the effect if I took the lead and filed for divorce?
And got 61.1.3 (inner truth) to 57 (subtlely penetrating), the resulting hex leaving me confused as, to me, it is one of communication and problem resolution within the couple.
- What would be the effect if I waited for my husband to take the lead and file?
And got 49.3.4.6 (radical change) to 42 (increasing).

I also asked what I should know about divorcing my husband and received 11.2.5 (peace) to 63 (already across), which to me suggests that I need to keep on track, tend to all the details of the situation lest (and that's scary!) "only the most extreme caution can prevent damage."