...life can be translucent

Menu

I Ching and "Yes/No" answers (thoughts/experience welcome)

isley

visitor
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I was debating on posting this in the "Shared Readings" subforum as the content can apply to either or both, but I figured I need to pick one so here it is. I apologize but this will likely be a lengthy post.

A bit of personal background on my usage of the I Ching (feel free to skip this paragraph if you wish): I've been consulting it regularly (often daily) for the past 4 months or so, which means I'm still very much a novice. I like to use the method outlined by Stephen Karcher's Total I Ching where in between the primary hexagram and the resulting hexagram intermediary hexagrams are drawn for each changing line which he labels "Steps of Change." Depending on the case I also include Karcher's "Operators" (inner and outer) into my reading. In my limited experience this method seems to give the clearest picture of all the intricacies and interconnections involved regarding the question at hand. Aside from Total I Ching I also use Balkin's The Laws of Change and Wilhelm's translation for the fullest range of possible interpretation.

I'm often surprised at how the answers I draw directly appear to address my concerns. Satisfied as I am with the standard way of consulting the oracle it's often bothered me that I couldn't get a direct "yes" or "no" response. In a sense I can with the usual methods but I'm left trying to decipher a hexagram and glean from it whether it's a yes/no. And there's always the issue of uncertainty and that I may be deluding myself. Interpreting hexagrams sometimes leaves the possibility of self-deception or misunderstanding what the oracle was actually trying to say regarding the question, but a yes/no can eliminate these and clarify ambiguities. Ambiguities can be good in getting the mind rolling through possibilities, but it's not good if there's ambiguity regarding pressing concerns.