...life can be translucent

Menu

Trigram Tui - A Lake or The Sea?

tomorton

visitor
Reaction score
I have never found any mention in the I Ching of the seas, oceans, sailing ships, or indeed any maritime references. The coast of China is fairly limited in relation to its population, and its size has demanded that the land support its population in terms of resources, wealth and geo-political power.

Yet, the Chinese were expert mariners and exerted influence through trade across vast distances overseas from their mainland territories. This absolute absence of maritime reference therefore has to be a puzzle.

But I wonder if the translations we have received in the West correctly exclude the sea / oceans from the I Ching and e.g. always give Tui as a Lake.

Maybe users have found their divinations more pertinent if the sea is considered as an element in some hexagrams, esspecially those with Tui, rather than a lake?

S

sooo

I'm not an expert in this (or any other) area, but I would allude to the sea as Kan/29, and to Tui/Dui in terms of shallow and fertile waters, and to rivers as obstacles or challenges to cross.

Bradford may be able to offer more scholarly insight here.

bradford

(deceased)
Clarity Supporter
Reaction score
When the Yijing was written the sea was not a big part of life the main parts of the kingdom. A lot of the ideas and feelings that we associate with the "oceanic feeling" and other such mystical states were carried by the yellow earth , Kun, which represents that sort of all-embracing acceptance. Dui is not oceanic at all. She is more personal and local, a marsh, or wetland, not even what we would consider a lake, but something more full of life.

rodaki

visitor
Reaction score
Dui is not oceanic at all. She is more personal and local