...life can be translucent

Menu

Hex 23 changing to 42

suemc

visitor
Reaction score
Dear Friends:

I think I posted this in the wrong forum, so I will try again.

I have never posted to this group before but I've been reading with interest for about 2 months. I've been studying the I Ching for about 3 years now, and am completely amazed by its insights and devoted to its wisdom. I use Wilhelm's text and Carol Anthony's Guide mostly when studying. I also have Alfred Huang's Complete I Ching, which I find helpful, especially the way he describes the Chinese symbols.

I need a little help with the question I posed to the Sage today. I've been a little overwhelmed by family problems and work stress over the past week so I asked the Sage how to work my way out of a depression. I usually seek guidance for the next steps out of confusion. I received 23 Splitting Apart, with lines 1 and 5, changing to 42 Increase. I was confused because 23's judgment clearly says STAY STILL, DO NOT ACT, while 42 says it is a good time to CROSS THE GREAT WATER.

any thoughts? thanks, sue

C

candid

Hi and welcome, sue.

Its my opinion that many of the English titles used for hexagrams often falls short of the original and intended full meaning. 23 Splitting Apart is a good example of this. We in the west tend to associate anything going away as being sorrowful. So, Splitting Apart naturally gives us the impression of some great loss or disassociation. If this were the case, who would the Image then read, those above secure their position only by being generous toward those below?

Things come together and then they "split apart". Its just the Universe breathing.

Your change lines provide two options. The first is, to yield to your inferior person. In this case, you lose your resting place. The second is, you voluntarily place your inferior under your superior. That is, you yield to it and are courted into closer communion with the higher.