...life can be translucent

Menu

Volunteering - travelling - Contemplating (hex 20)

em ching

visitor
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am very soon travelling to an impoverished country to do some volunteering and I am feeling quite nervous (and excited!), but mostly apprehensive of my ability to help as I have never done anything like this before! I asked:

How can I make the best of the experience?
20. 1 Contemplation (View) - 42 Increase

I was amazed (generally I always am by the relevance of answers, but this time especially!) by the multiple references to the idea of travel - and of course to 'seeing' other people (and cultures!) I was also humbled: 'self-contemplation means the overcoming of naive egotism in the person who sees everything solely from his own standpoint'
(I felt the Yi was talking directly to me - I really hope that when I'm abroad I can rise above my emotional troubles ( and shyness) and be able to bring happiness to those I am meant to be helping) that is my aim, though of course I know nothing is ever that simple..

The moving line 1 : 'boylike contemplation' seems to suggest that I see without seeing - and perhaps that I need to be on guard against behaving in a detached manner from the local people when I'm there? (It will be a big culture shock) and perhaps in some way warning me that I shouldn't be naive about it?

I then asked What should I bear in mind when I'm out there?
9.1, 5 to 18 Work on what is spoiled

I am going to be helping vulnerable and unfortunate people (something I've never really done before and I hope I can bring something good to them and forget myself a bit...) Perhaps the Yi is saying that I as a small, relatively powerless individual, can only make a small difference, though it will be difficult (line 1) and that I must be mindful to involve others: 'pleasure shared is pleasure doubled'