...life can be translucent

Menu

hex 42.2.5> 41: Decrease or Increase or what exactly? confusion galore!!

emme

visitor
Reaction score
Hello fellow I-CHINGers!
As a beginner I kindly request the benefit of your wisdom & experience.

I've been in a relationship for almost 6 years now and living together for the past 8 months. We are very bonded and do love each other, but my overall feeling is one of borderline unhappiness and discomfort as I realize that we are not really compatible in our values, priorities and lifestyles. I frequently feel trapped and wish to be free of this bond but I am held back by my caring for this man which is profound and not to be lightly dismissed. I am upset over a recent quarrel as we are not speaking to each other at the moment so my question was:
What should I expect if I break up with x now?

The answer was:
Hex. 42 with changing lines 2 & 5 changing to hexagram 41.

I feel the I Ching is telling me that a break-up (the decrease ) will be very beneficial ( increase) to me. Is that so? Furthermore, I am mystified by the changing lines and the nuances of the answer esp. as they refer to tortoises (line 2) and kindness in ones heart ( line 5). Can you please help me with a more detailed interpretation... before I act on what could be a half-baked understanding of the advice given?

Much appreciated!

tigerintheboat

Supporter
Clarity Supporter
Reaction score
Increase and Decrease

I've been in a relationship for almost 6 years now and living together for the past 8 months...I frequently feel trapped and wish to be free of this bond but I am held back by my caring for this man which is profound and not to be lightly dismissed.

The answer was: