...life can be translucent

Menu

Crowley and I Ching

tobiasosir

visitor
Reaction score
Hello!

I have just joined this borad with the intention of asking some specific questions, and have already found some great discussion to jump into. I'm new to the I Ching, though I'm currently making a serious study into it (on its own and in relation to Kabbalah, tarot, runes, and other oracles), but with my background in Taoism, am finding the I Ching to be particularly useful and interesting.

On to the quesiton:
One of the translations I've recently come across is Aleister Crowley's, as I explored some of his ideas of kabbalah and other things. It's definately different, and for me it seems to lack some of the Taoist background, but it's a decent translatoin.

One of the main differences I noted, however, is the method of divination. I've learned the yarrow stalk method and have dabbled in the three coin method...but Crowley suggests using six coins, and I haven't seen this anywhere else. I'm wondering how "valid" or traditional this method it.

Basically, you have six coins--one side yin, the other yang, but they can be any coins--with one being of a different size than the others. You simply hold them in your hand, ask your question, then cast them (not unlike runes). The coin closest to you is the bottom line, then upwards from there until you have a hexagram. The different sized coin is marked as a changing line. In this way, you get a reading in seconds, and it always produces a changing line.

This seems...very easy. Which makes me wonder if it's not genuine. It almost seems to be a cheat, though I would think that any way of consulting the Oracle can be helpful. I also wonder about the ever present changing line. I would think there are times when an Unchanged hexagram is intended-sometimes the situation/question is cut and dried.

Thoughts?

heylise

Supporter
Clarity Supporter
Reaction score