...life can be translucent

Menu

Thread working

jdjms

visitor
Reaction score
How exactly do you use threads, what is the Quote button, and what does it do? In the past I've always tried to avoid things like these because I could never figure out how to use them. But I think It's about time I started learning.

So, any bit of Info would be greatly apppreciated.

Please & Thankyou.

dobro p

visitor
Reaction score
jdjms said:
How exactly do you use threads, what is the Quote button, and what does it do? In the past I've always tried to avoid things like these because I could never figure out how to use them. But I think It's about time I started learning.

So, any bit of Info would be greatly apppreciated.

Please & Thankyou.

A thread is a series of messages that people exchange on one topic. The first post in the thread states the topic. For instance, you just started a thread called 'thread working', and the topic seems to be how to use threads and the quote button on this bulletin board. My post is the second post in this thread. It's considered good etiquette to stay on topic when you post in a thread that somebody started; it's considered poor etiquette to change the topic lightly - it's called 'hijacking' the thread. Sometimes threads sort of stray off-topic by unspoken common agreement though. Watch and learn.

When you click the QUOTE button in the bottom right corner of somebody's post, it does two things simultaneously. It opens a text window for you to type a reply to that post, and it quotes what the person said in the post where you clicked the QUOTE button. It's a handy way of letting everybody who reads the thread know who it is that you're replying to. For instance, by clicking the QUOTE button in the bottom right corner of your post, I got what you said 'quoted' at the top of my post. That way, you (and everybody who reads this thread) knows that I'm replying to you. Nifty, yes?

You're welcome.

beithe

visitor
Reaction score
thank you dobro