...life can be translucent

Menu

Order of hexagram sequences

sliponshoe

visitor
Reaction score
i've always been wondering if there's any definite way to interpret the order of hexagrams in sequences. is there a major difference between let's say"50----->56" and "56----->50"? is the first hexagram the exposition of the problem one is facing? can one always argue that the moving line within a hexagram results in the following hexagram? or can the second hexagram also be a kind of a footnote. i.e. explanatory note? being a novice i'd love your feedback.

thanks
sliponshoe

lightofdarkness

(deceased)
Reaction score
The natural order of hexagrams comes out of the self-referencing of yin/yang. That will give you the 'binary' sequence of hexagrams. From there all else follows in that the underlaying pattern sets a ground to interpret all derived sequences of hexagrams. STRUCTURALLY there is no difference in reading 02-23 either way but TEMPORALLY there can be differences.

See comments etc in:

http://members.iimetro.com.au/~lofting/myweb/icpoints.html for comments on the binary etc

See

http://members.iimetro.com.au/~lofting/myweb/icmatrix.html

For MANY sequences of hexagrams.

See

http://members.iimetro.com.au/~lofting/IChingPlus for a general overview of the static elements, the structural, in the IC.

Chris.

heylise

Supporter
Clarity Supporter
Reaction score
Many see the relating hexagram as the situation as a whole. It gave me a much better insight in many readings. So 50 to 56 means, it is a time of 56, and the things you can do now are the changing lines of 55. If you follow the advice, the good things of 56 can come about (like finding your place in a new environment), if you don't, the negative side (not finding it, staying a stranger).
Reversed, it is a time of 55 (like embarking on a big enterprise), and what you can best do, you can find in 56 and its moving lines (moving carefully like a stranger to the situation).