...life can be translucent

Menu

Yi Ching and The Interracial Relationship: burning hot question!

brambletoad

visitor
Reaction score
Dear Fellow Yi Watchers:

I've gone and done it -- here I am new to you guys, and hoping to make a good impression, and here I go and ask a relationship analysis question :blush:

Briefly, it's about whether 23.3>52 can mean that someone who has shown a strong fascination with women of another race, but always married his own race, is making a decision to cross the Rubicon o' Love.

THE SITUATION

The Querent (me) is female. The Subject's a male. Male, whom we'll call Y, is highly conservative socially and ecomonically, but claims he is progressive and not a racist. He writes plays for Broadway. He has written many plays where people of a specific race are often shown in what members of that race feel is a consistently ugly and negative light. Y is divorced again after three unsuccessful marriages to women who share his race. Their shared race was not a factor; instead, sometimes different people just want different things -- and relationships are tough for anybody.

Female, whom we shall call me -- er, I mean X -- is a woman from another country who is a rising playwright and a member of the race Y has depicted negatively in his plays. X is considered stunningly beautiful (though she would definitely disagree!) and consistently attracts guys of Y's ethnic persuasion. Despite herself and the way he shows her people onstage, X thinks Y is cute and wants to learn more about him.

X has brazenly contacted Y's publicist and invited Y out for a newspaper interview over coffee to lure him closer and see how his mind ticks: whether he is actually racist or simply not interested. X's friends admire the craftsmanship of Y's plays but feel he is a bigot and will not reciprocate X's attraction. Yet X has an unshakable feeling Y would make a good match and that checking this is the correct thing to do.