...life can be translucent

Menu

Music therapy reading

cellofellow

visitor
Reaction score
I've been looking into music therapy as a possible career change. I've been teaching music for a few years, and that's been my living, and now I need to something else. I asked Yi about it.

Question: What about persuing music therapy as a career?

Answer: Hexagram 6 changing to Hexagram 4

I'm lucky in that I generally get clear readings, but with this one, I've no idea what contending has got to do with it, or how the changing lines apply. Any ideas?

B

bruce_g

Just throwing ideas out here for you, see what resonates.

4 may represent blind spots.

Would there be any conflict of interest if you pursue this path?

Does this new interest spring from dissatisfaction and/or confusion in your life, particularly involving your current line of work?

Do you have a game plan?

Do you have appropriate credentials to be a therapist.

6 sometimes points out discrepancy between desire and execution. IE: I may have therapeutic skills: I'm often told I have a healing voice and human insight, my communication skills are good, I'm a great listener, I understand philosophical and psychological concepts quite well, and I've assisted others in these things for a long while. But if I hope to hang a shingle and start practicing psychotherapy, I'd soon be doing it behind bars. I'd call that a conflict.

That's all all playful exaggeration, of course, but you get the point?

cellofellow

visitor
Reaction score
Hey, Bruce, thanks for the ideas. I'll take them point by point.

Conflict of interest: more a case of a new interest that has developed through talking to people who do it, and reading around the subject. Hex 4, I suppose.

Spring from dissatisfaction / confusion: damn right. I need to do something else now. I'm feeling a bit rutty.

Game plan: Actually, I thought the other day that this will need a good 5 or 6 years planning. Not something to go into lightly.