...life can be translucent

Menu

25 > 13 keep at art or get with it

ariyeh

visitor
Reaction score
Hi All

This is my first post on this site. Though have been enjoying the site for many years.

The question I put to the Iching was whether it would be advantageous to continue doing art as my main focus(I am a practising artist) and have a small job on the side; or conversely to change my current focus and get a 'proper' job and do art on the side. I ask this question because I do have a family and also want what is best for them. Obviously its very difficult these days(and perhaps always has been) pursuing a creative path in life as opposed to a more practical one.

The answer i got was 25 present changing to 13.

The answer is very interesting also because it relates directly to a book i am reading on the poetry of Tukaram - an Indian folk poet known for his innocence and humility. In many profound ways his life embodies the qualities of hexagram 25 - Innocence and 'the unexpected'.

What do people think - is it as clear an answer as it appears to be??
Thanks in advance!

willowfox

Inactive
Reaction score
It suggests that you get a "proper"job and do your art as a past time at least until "things"improve.

ariyeh

visitor
Reaction score
Thanks Willow for the directness. The first hexagram i can see gives that answer especially the moving line, but what about the 13? How does it contribute to your conclusion?

Anyone else before I pack away the brushes and pull up the socks?

willowfox

Inactive
Reaction score
but what about the 13? How does it contribute to your conclusion?

Hex 13 suggests going out into the world and thus working alongside who have the same needs, in this case money, so it would advise you to stop being coped up alone with your paint brushes for company.

tigerintheboat

Supporter
Clarity Supporter
Reaction score
Hexagram 13

Balkin says about H13 "The best way to realize your goals now is through participation in a group."