...life can be translucent

Menu

how is diagnosis like divination? (also an introduction)

yirocketeer

visitor
Reaction score
Hi everyone, my name is Jason. I'm a first year student of Chinese medicine and I started exploring the Yi just before I started my program a few months ago. I was at a lecture about fengshui and the speaker gave a brief intro to the bagua and the trigrams, and I'm not sure what happened, but I think it was love at first sight. Perhaps the delicious symmetry of Fuxi's arrangement simply tickled my OCD bone, but whatever the reason I had to know more.

That brought me to this wonderful site which gave me everything I needed to hit the ground running with my own readings. Those were absolutely marvelous first encounters with the book of changes and I've been hooked ever since. I figured that I should start talking to this community if I want to go further.

I have this feeling that my side study of the Yi will pay off big once I'm out there sticking pins in people. I had this flash a few weeks ago suggesting that diagnosis in Chinese medicine utilizes the same mind one requires for divination. You have to empty out and let the universe do all the talking, holding yourself back from grasping at what you think the answers are.

I asked my teachers and they all suggested that the link was more or less valid. But I thought I'd ask Change too and see what that came up with. Here's what I got:

"How is diagnosis like divination?"

Primary: 13 - Tong Ren (Unity)
Relating: 42 - Yi (Increase)