...life can be translucent

Menu

Hexagram, Trigram, Elements Interpretation

Fire_Horse2912

visitor
Reaction score
Hi,
I am pretty new to the I Ching and have been using the 3 coin method to cast my hexagrams and progressing well with my interpretations.
I have recently discovered the Plum Blossom Oracle through Lillian Too's book, the new I Ching.and my initial thoughts from resulting hexagrams I have created via the Early or Late Heaven methods is that once again the correct guidance is shown.

The crux of my question is this, In Too's book she gives an interpretation of how the elements represented by each Trigram interact in either an exhaustive, destructive or positive relationship.

Whilst interpreting my hexagrams I have found that on the outset the hexagram is favourable, yet when I also look at Too's interpretation of the trigrams elements they show a destructive or exhaustive relationship.

For example I asked the question what is my relationship with X and cast Hex 19 with no changing lines. and my interpretation is that with the constant attention & nurturing things will be favourable if I don't then the will be no benefit in the 8th month, though I don't take that literally.
The elements quoted in the book are earth above metal being exhaustive and the nuclear being earth above wood being a negative relationship.

How much importance should I put on the elements in interpritating my answer?

Thank you.

N

Nevermind

I haven't read Too's book about Mei Hua/Plum Blossom... I can explain the way I use this.
Metal below Earth means the lower Trigram is Resource for the upper one. Girl is in upper one, You are in lower one(more on that below). So this is as supportive as it can be and you are supporting her. That can be exhausting, but generally seems very beneficial, for this type of question.