...life can be translucent

Menu

stars22

visitor
Reaction score
new member, but I visited this forum for some years now. I worked my whole life, move to another country worked again. Now I am not at full retirement age and there is a package offer to retire for a lump sum, about half a year worth of pay. I have no pension but will have SS. Each day since this packaged arrived I wake up and tell myself this is an opportunity to just go and figure out who am I, what i want, and do what i want...,. without being defined by my job. My best friends ,from way back, congratulate me,,,, Then I think how much I will miss the morning challenge and daily work (I am an engineer) I have grand kids I want to leave them something/money for school too. I am also afraid I will be poor and although I do not look for material things in life, I am still uneasy with poverty at old age. My work is v. v.stressfull, maybe because i put too much pressure on myself. I like it and is still too much. I feel like locomotive heading the concrete wall. never had time to go to physicals find out if I am ok. Hope you did not fall asleep...Otherwise I do nto look acceptable anymore,,,washing the hair only everyother day,, still wear make-up but gained 30 lbs (also my father died a couple of years ago, so that may be from that). I asked my three girls if anyone needs me to help with kids (they live far away), and they politely said no. I wear same clothes each day at work, almost:? I have two pairs of pants and 5 shirts;one for Monday, ,,,,,). I do not need anyone's validation, do not work for that, feel I can still turn the world around, probably delusional. So I could take the severance packet and go work somewhere else, but my husband is still working in this town we live, and I think I do not want to go alone in the world (still debating on this one). I have some projects unfinished that will keep me busy.. but the bottom line: life is not infinite, have to detach and go, if ever... I also aske