...life can be translucent

Menu

Unwanted Side Effects of Using I Ching Divination

• Thread starter unsubscribed_cm
  • Start date
U

unsubscribed_cm

Was wondering if anyone has identified negative side effects of using divination to find guidance in times of emotional turmoil - or otherwise.

I myself have noticed a increase in obsessive nonsensical thoughts in my mind.
Anyone else have that? I have a obsessive mind in the first place.

I've also noticed using it as becoming a replacement for my own independent search for clarity. Yet is unfulfilling and ever dis-empowering as it's a rather eerie thing to depend on for certainty. At least for me.

I've also been trying to quit the I Ching for some time now. It's just like an addiction.
I have yet to put it in my life properly. For a while I was bowing down to it - then I threw it like popcorn got into arguments and disagreed with it (humiliating waste of time). I've been using it for at least 3 years or so.

Some of the reasons to quit are:

I cannot understand the answers anyway.
It takes so long to understand the answers you might as well figure things out without it.
Seems a little weak minded to depend on it.
Some people say it's just giving you a reflection of yourself.
Other people say it's talking with evil spirits demons or ghosts.
It can definitely be an obsessive thing.
Well it is a weird thing It does open up a whole lot of stuff that is pretty dark and mysterious which is normally hidden in mundane life. Which can lead to further explorations into strange dark corners of reality.

Reasons I don't wish to quit:

Can give definitive answers to questions nobody has the answer to (like the future).
Has allot of timeless wisdom in it that I've yet to completely understand.
It can be a therapy to throw it when you feel ostracized and rejected.
You can be immature and worthless as long as your humble to the I Ching correcting you.